Britain has sovereignty over seventeen areas that do not form part of England itself: 14. Across the country the UK and Crown Dependencies three

Fourteen British Overseas Land are: Anguilla, Bermuda, British Antarctic Territory; British Indian Ocean Territory, British Virgin Islands while; Cayman Islands, Falkland Islands, Gibraltar, Montserrat, Saint Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha; Turks and Caicos Islands; Islands Pitcairn; South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands, Sovereign Base Areas in Cyprus and British claims in Antarctica are not universally recognized collective British overseas territory covers an area of ​​land estimated 667 018 .. square miles (1.72757 million km2) and has a population of about 260,000 people. They are the remnants of the British Empire and specifically some chose to remain British territory (Bermuda in 1995 and Gibraltar in 2002).

The Crown Dependencies are the property of the United Kingdom, as opposed to British overseas territory. They consist of the Channel Island of Jersey and Guernsey in the English Channel Bailiwicks and the Isle of Man in the Irish Sea. Being independently administered jurisdictions they do not form part of Britain or of the European Union, although the British government to manage foreign affairs and defense and the British Parliament has the authority to legislate on their behalf. The power to pass legislation that affects the end of the island lies in the hands of their own legislative assemblies, respectively, with the consent of the Crown (Privy Council or, in the case of the Isle of Man, Lieutenant governor under certain circumstances) since. 2005 Crown dependency each have a Chief Minister as head of government.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...