United Kingdom

Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (commonly known as British, English, or English) is a sovereign state located off the coast of north-west of continental Europe. The country includes the island of Great Britain, the northeastern part of the island of Ireland and the islands are smaller. Northern Ireland is the only part of the UK that shares a land border with another state-the sovereign Republic of Ireland. In addition the UK land border is surrounded by the Atlantic Ocean, North Sea, English Channel and Irish Sea.

Britain is a unitary state governed under a constitutional monarchy and parliamentary system, the seat of government in the capital London. This is a country in itself and consists of four countries: England, Northern Ireland, Scotland and Wales. There are three devolved national administrations, each with varying strengths, based in Belfast, Cardiff and Edinburgh, the capital of Northern Ireland, Wales and Scotland respectively. Associated with England, but part of it unconstitutional, the three Crown Dependencies. United Kingdom have fourteen overseas territories. It is the remnants of the British Empire which at its peak in 1922, covering nearly a quarter of the world's land surface and are the largest empire in history. British influence can still be observed in the system of language, culture and laws of many of its original territory.

Britain is a developed country and has the world's seventh largest economy by nominal GDP and eighth largest economy by purchasing power parity. It was the first country in the industrialized world and a leading authority in the world during the 20th century to the 19th and early. Britain remains a major force in leading the influence of economic, cultural, military, scientific and political. It recognized nuclear weapons state and its military expenditure ranked fourth in the world.

Britain has become a permanent member of UN Security Council since the first session in 1946 and has been a member of the European Union and its predecessor the European Economic Community since 1973. It is also a member of the Commonwealth of Nations, Council of Europe, G7, G8, G20, NATO, OECD and the World Trade Organization.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...